Next Tuesday (June 28th), Toronto City Council’s Executive Committee will debate a motion asking the Government of Ontario to close the Pickering Nuclear Station in 2018 when its licence expires.

This is a chance for Toronto City Council to show leadership where the Wynne Government has failed, by taking a stand to protect the millions of people who live in the radiation fall-out zone of one of the world’s oldest and largest nuclear plants which lies just 5 km east of Toronto.

The Pickering Nuclear Station started operating in 1971. In the 45 years since, it has been surrounded by tens of thousands of new residences, schools and businesses. The province turned a blind eye to the problem of allowing a huge metropolitan area to grow up around an aging nuclear station and it continues to turn a blind eye to Ontario Power Generation’s ill conceived plan to continue to operate the plant to 2025 or beyond.

Closing the Pickering Nuclear Station: A cost-benefit analysisTwice as many people now live within 30 kilometres of the Pickering Station – 2.2 million – as live within that distance of the Indian Point Nuclear Station outside New York City. Both New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and New York Mayor Bill de Blasio have called for the shutdown of the aging Indian Point station.

We’ve outlined a myriad of reasons – from high costs and poor performance to safer and cheaper alternatives – in a new report we’ve developed to help Toronto’s Executive Committee make an informed decision.

Councillors Glenn De Baeremaeker and Gord Perks have gotten the ball rolling on this important issue by bringing the motion forward. Now it’s your turn. Here’s what you can do:

1. Send a message to Mayor Tory and ask him to request the Government of Ontario close the Pickering Nuclear Station in 2018 when its licence expires.

2. Please pass this message on to your friends.

3. Consider sending your own message to one or more of the Mayor’s Executive Committee members, particularly if you live in the ward they represent (full list below).

Paul Ainslie

Ana Bailão

Gary Crawford

Frank Di Giorgio

Mary-Margaret McMahon

Cesar Palacio

James Pasternak

David Shiner

Jaye Robinson

Michael Thompson

Denzil Minnan-Wong

Michelle Holland

 Thank you!

Angela Bischoff, Outreach Director

p.s. And please sign the petition to