Last night Mayor John Tory and Toronto City Council passed a resolution requesting the Government of Ontario to develop and implement a plan to phase-out all gas-fired electricity generation as soon as possible.

The resolution, which was approved by a vote of 21 to 2, was moved by Councillor Jennifer McKelvie and seconded by Councillor Mike Layton.   

The motion was opposed by Councillors Denzil Minnan-Wong and Stephen Holyday.

The motion was also strongly opposed by Ontario Power Generation, Enbridge and the Ontario Energy Association (e.g., Enbridge, TC Energy and Shell).

The following 21 municipalities have now passed resolutions requesting the Government of Ontario to phase-out our province’s gas-fired power plants: Toronto, County of Peterborough, Mississauga, Brampton, Niagara Falls, Temiskaming Shores, Ajax, Orangeville, Kingston, Waterloo, Guelph, Cobourg, St. Catharines, King, Woolwich, Selwyn, Windsor, Burlington, Hamilton, Halton Hills and Kitchener.

Please tell Ontario’s political leaders and your MPP that it’s time for Ontario to phase-out its gas-fired power plants by 2030 and move to a climate-friendly renewable future.

Please pass this message on to your friends.

Thank you!

Recent News

Recent tweets

THIS WEDNESDAY [February 1 @ 7 PM ET]:

Join us to learn more (from the experts) about the benefits of installing a ...ground-source #heatpump!

Register Now (For Free!):